CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Posts categorized under: ACM
Nancy Amato HeadshotNancy Amato Headshot

CRA Vice Chair Nancy Amato Elected ACM Member-at-Large

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) recently announced the election of new officers and members at large. CRA Board Member and Vice Chair Nancy M. Amato has been elected for a four-year Member-at-Large term. She will serve from July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2024. Additionally, CCC Council Member Elisa Bertino has been elected Secretary/Treasurer of ACM for a two-year term from July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2020. Bertino is the Samuel D. Conte Professor of Computer Science at Purdue University.

ACM LogoACM Logo

ACM Gordon Bell Special Prize for HPC-Based COVID-19 Research: Call for Nominations

ACM has announced a special category of the ACM Gordon Bell Prize to recognize outstanding research achievements that use high performance computing applications to understand and combat the COVID-19 pandemic, the ACM Gordon Bell Special Prize for High Performance Computing-Based COVID-19 Research. Financial support of the $10,000 cash prize that accompanies the award is provided by Gordon Bell, a pioneer in high performance computing and parallel computing.

Nominations are now open, and are due October 8, 2020:


CCC Council Member Shwetak Patel Receives ACM Prize in Computing

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) has announced it’s 2018 Prize in Computing award to Shwetak Patel, of the University of Washington and Google and a Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council Member.  The ACM Prize in Computing is their second most prestigious award in all of computing (after the Turing Award – known as the Nobel Prize in Computing).  Patel is the recipient of the 2018 ACM Prize in Computing for contributions to creative and practical sensing systems for sustainability and health.  In just a decade, he has had incredible impact in the applications of AI and sensing in two broad areas – developing methods for disaggregating energy and water usage in the home and developing new methods of health sensing and advancing clinical science through the use of commodity sensors.

Sarita AdveSarita Adve

Former Board Member Sarita Adve Named Recipient of the ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award

Former CRA Board Member Sarita Adve (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) was recently named the 2018 recipient of the ACM-IEEE CS Ken Kennedy Award. She is being recognized “for research contributions and leadership in the development of memory consistency models for C++ and Java, for service to numerous computer science organizations, and for exceptional mentoring.” […]

Call for Nominations for the new ACM Charles P. “Chuck” Thacker Breakthrough in Computing Award

ACM welcomes your nominations for the inaugural 2018 ACM Charles P. “Chuck” Thacker Breakthrough in Computing Award (ACM Breakthrough Award). This biennial award will recognize an individual who reflects Thacker’s pioneering contributions in making a surprising or disruptive leapfrog in computing ideas or technologies, and his inspiration of generations of young computer scientists. 

New ACM SIGHPC Dissertation Award

Has your department graduated a great PhD student in the past year in the field of High Performance Computing? If so, make sure to nominate them for the ACM SIGHPC dissertation award by August 1st, 2018. The awardee is recognized with a $2,000 cash prize, a plaque, and travel support to SC Conference