CCC Task Forces

The CCC Council is broken up into various task forces depending on the need from the community. Each task force, made up of a select group of council members and community experts, focuses on a specific topic area of computing and IT in order to drive innovation and new research visions in the area through white papers, visioning workshops, the blog, and other community resources. The current task forces are listed below; to view previous CCC task forces, visit this webpage.

Cybersecurity and Cybertrust

Current Members: Elisa Bertino, Nadya Bliss, Kathleen Fisher, Brian LaMacchia, and Helen Nissenbaum

This task force was created in fall 2020 and focuses on topics related to cybersecurity, privacy, and information provenance.

Re**ing Computing Task Force

Current Members: Tom Conte, Ian Foster, William D. Gropp, Mark Hill

The Re**ing Computing task force was created in fall 2020 to lead activities related to the development of future computing architecture and systems in order to achieve major goals such as overcoming the end of Moore’s Law and improving high performance computing systems.

Responsible Computing

Current Members: David C. Parkes, Melanie Mitchell, Melanie Moses, Katie Siek, Suresh Venkatasubramanian

The Responsible Computing task force was established in fall 2020 to lead the CCC’s activities related to fairness, privacy, and the responsibility for the negative outcomes of algorithms.

Technology for a Connected & Distributed Life

Current Members: Sujata Banerjee, Maria Gini, Holly Yanco, and Daniel P. Lopresti

The Technology for a Connected & Distributed Life task force will lead CCC activities related to the Internet of Things (IoT), aging in place, robotics, and related topics

AI Working Group

Current Members: Elizabeth Bradley, Chad Jenkins, and Melanie Mitchell

The Artificial Intelligence Working Group led the CCC’s effort to generate an AI Roadmap, and will lead other activities related to AI. The AI Roadmap activity was chaired by Yolanda Gil (University of Southern California and President-Elect of AAAI) and Bart Selman (Cornell University), this new effort is in support of the Administrations’ efforts in this area, and will bring together academic and industrial researchers and federal agency representatives to help chart a course for needed research in AI, through a series of workshops in the Fall of 2018, resulting in a Roadmap to be produced in the Spring of 2019. The National Science Foundation (NSF) Directorate for Computing and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) is supporting the effort, and Henry Kautz, Division Director for Intelligent Intelligent Information Systems is helping to coordinate the effort with the CCC. This effort is similar to one of the CCC’s first activities, the Robotics Roadmap, which helped to launch the National Robotics Initiative in 2011 and the subsequent 2016 Robotics Roadmap and NRI 2.0.

Foundations Working Group

Current Members: Ronitt Rubinfeld

Created in fall 2020, the Foundations Working Group will lead the CCC’s efforts related to fundamental computer science research.