Mary Jane Irwin Wins Athena Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2010 Newsletter The Association for Computing Machinery’s Council on Women in Computing (ACM-W) has named Mary Jane Irwin of the Pennsylvania State University as the 2010-2011 Athena Lecturer for her outstanding research contributions to computer-aided design, computer arithmetic, and computer architecture. Janie designed novel computer structures that are used in […]

Jessica Hodgins Wins Computer Graphics Achievement Award

Originally Printed in Summer/Fall Newsletter 2010 The ACM SIGGRAPH Awards program recognizes indi-viduals who have made significant contributions to the computer graphics community through their research, teaching, service, or writing. The Computer Graphics Achievement Award is awarded annually to recognize long-lasting accomplishments that have provided a significant advance in the state of the art of […]

Manuela Veloso Wins ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2009 Newsletter Professor Manuela M. Veloso of Carnegie Mellon University is the recipient of the 2009 ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award.  Professor Veloso has made significant and sustained contributions to Autonomous Agents and Multi-agent Systems in the areas of planning and control learning in multi-agent systems.  Veloso’s research is particularly […]

Fran Berman Wins Ken Kennedy Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2010 Newsletter The IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery jointly present the inaugural Ken Kennedy Award to Dr. Francine Berman for her leadership in building national-scale cyberinfrastructure, the environment that supports rapidly expanding computing and information services over networked resources, including the Internet. Fran, vice president for […]

Elaine Weyuker Wins Anita Borg Technical Leadership Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2009 Newsletter The Anita Borg Technical Leadership Award is given to a woman who has inspired the women’s technology community through outstanding technological and social contributions. This year’s winner, AT&T Fellow Elaine Weyuker, has had a career of firsts: She was the first woman to receive a doctorate in computer […]

Barbara Liskov Wins ACM A. M. Turing Award

Originally Printed in the Summer/Fall 2009 Newsletter Professor Barbara Liskov of MIT has won the 2008 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award.  The Turing Award is the highest honor awarded in Computer Science and Engineering and carries a $250,000 prize. The ACM citation for the award states “Barbara Liskov has led important developments in computing […]

Interview with Carla Ellis

Originally Posted in Summer/Fall 2008 Newsletter Carla Ellis recently retired as Professor at Duke University. Over her 30 year research career, she worked on systems for ranging from large multiprocessors to small, battery-powered mobile devices. In particular, she was a pioneer in the topic of energy management for computers. She continues to serve as Editor-in-Chief of ACM’s […]