Tag Archive: announcements

Announcements published in Computing Research News.


Upcoming Deadlines
January 15 – Distinguished Service Award
January 15 – A. Nico Habermann Award
November 20 – CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award
November 30 – 2021 Grad Cohort for Women Application Deadline
November 30 – 2021 Grad Cohort for Inclusion, Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Leadership Skills – The IDEALS Workshop Application Deadline

Are You Working on the Taulbee Survey?
The CRA Taulbee Survey is in progress.
The deadline for the salary section is November 24.
Late December:
 Preliminary salary report available to participants.
January 20, 2021: Due date for the main Taulbee section.


CRA Board Member Andrea Danyluk Named Distinguished Member of ACM

Recently, ACM named 62 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. Several from the CRA community were recognized for outstanding educational contributions to computing, including CRA Board Member and CRA-WP Co-Chair Andrea Danyluk. Congratulations to all!

Valerie B. Barr
Mount Holyoke College

Andrea Danyluk
Williams College

Manuel A. Pérez Quiñones
University of North Carolina at Charlotte 

Jodi L. Tims
Northeastern University


Save the Dates:
2018 CRA Career Mentoring Workshop
2018 CRA Conference at Snowbird

Nominees Sought for CRA Board of Directors 
The deadline for receipt of nominations is December 1, 2017.

Nominations Open for 2018 CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award
Nominations are due Monday, November 27, 2017 by 5 PM (ET).

Are You Working on the Taulbee Survey?
The CRA Taulbee Survey is in progress. The deadline for the salary section is November 20 and the deadline for the rest of the survey is January 8, 2018.

CRA Summit on Technology and Jobs
On December 12, CRA will host a Summit on Technology and Jobs in Washington, DC.

Applications Open for CRA-W Grad Cohort Workshop
Applications are now open until November for the CRA-W Graduate Cohort Workshop, which will be held April 13-14, 2018 in San Francisco, CA.

Nominations Open for CRA Distinguished Service and A. Nico Habermann Awards
The deadline for receipt of nominations for both awards is December 8.

CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program Accepting Nominations
Faculty members are invited to nominate a graduate student by January 29, 2018.


January Announcements

Taulbee Announcement
Reminder: The main section of the Taulbee Survey (student and faculty numbers) is due January 18.

2016 AAAS Fellows
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has announced its 2016 Elected Fellows. Both former CRA Board Treasurer Phillip Bernstein (Microsoft Research) and current CRA Board Member Josep Torrellas (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) were elected Fellows.

2016 Class of ACM Fellows
Recently, the ACM named 53 of its members as ACM Fellows for major contributions in areas including artificial intelligence, cryptography, computer architecture, high performance computing, and programming languages. Congratulations to Carla Brodley (CRA-W), Shwetak Patel (CCC), Holly Rushmeier (CCC and CRA-W), Valerie Taylor (CRA and CRA-W) and Manuela Veloso (CRA-W).

CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program Accepting Applications
The Computing Research Association Education Committee (CRA-E) is now accepting applications for the CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program. The program provides opportunities for Ph.D. candidates in computing fields to contribute to CRA-E projects, network with computer science education advocates on the committee, engage in advocacy for mentoring undergraduate students, and promote undergraduate research and education at the national level.

CRA Board Member Named in Women You Should Know List
CRA Board Member Ellen Zegura was named one of the “10 Women in Networking/Communications That You Should Know” by Networking Networking Women (N2 Women), a discipline-specific community of researchers in the communications and networking research fields. Zegura is a faculty member at Georgia Tech and also a member of the CRA executive committee.


John Hopcroft Receives China’s Friendship Award

John Hopcroft, 2007 CRA Distinguished Service award recipient, recently received the Friendship Award, China’s highest award given to “a foreign expert who has made an outstanding contribution to China’s economic and social progress.” Hopcroft is a faculty member at Cornell University. He has lectured frequently in China and helped several Chinese universities upgrade their advanced teaching programs.

From Cornell’s announcement:
“We cannot waste a significant fraction of the world’s talent,” Hopcroft said. “Improving education in China is an opportunity to improve the lives of tens of millions of individuals. This is also an opportunity for Cornell to truly become an international university – by committing to help other countries improve their educational systems.”