Tag Archive: CRA Announcements

Announcements from the Computing Research Association.

CRA Announces Four New Board Members

There are four new additions to the CRA Board of Directors. David A. Bader, Georgia Institute of Technology, is the new IEEE-CS Representative. Julia Hirschberg, Columbia University, and P. Takis Metaxas, Wellesley College, replace members who resigned, and their terms end June 30, 2014. Henry Kautz, University of Rochester, is the new AAAI representative.

North American Computing Leadership Convenes in Snowbird

CRA celebrated the 40th anniversary of its founding in July with the 20th instance of its biennial Chairs Conference at Snowbird. The two-day conference, held at the Snowbird Ski and Summer Resort in Little Cottonwood Canyon, Utah, is an opportunity for the leadership of the North American computing research community to gather and discuss issues of importance to the community.

CRA Hosts 2012 Tisdale Fellows Lunch

CRA was pleased to welcome a 2012 Tisdale Fellow as a summer intern. TJ Kaplan, a recent graduate of Georgia Tech in Electrical Engineering, spent eight weeks learning about science and technology policy in Washington through his work with the CRA Government Affairs staff and the Computing Community Consortium, and from other Tisdale Fellows.

Staff Changes

With this issue CRA bids a fond farewell to Jean Smith who has been editing CRA publications for 15 years. In addition to handling our various communication channels, Jean handle both the Board and the awards committees. She will be sorely missed as she makes the most of her retirement by traveling to new and exotic locations.

CRA Announces Awards for Service

The CRA Board of Directors has selected Susan L. Graham, Pehong Chen Distinguished Professor Emerita at UC Berkeley, for the Computing Research Association Distinguished Service Award 2012. Graham was selected in recognition of the extraordinary contributions that she has made over more than three decades of dedicated and selfless service and leadership. The CRA Board of Directors has selected Lucy Sanders, CEO, National Center for Women & Information Technology; Robert Schnabel, Dean, School of Informatics, Indiana University; and Telle Whitney, CEO and President of the Anita Borg Institute for Women and Technology to receive the 2012 A. Nico Habermann Award.

CRA Helps Deconstruct an iPad for Congress

In a series of briefings dating back to last fall for Members of Congress and their staff, a set of high-profile speakers from the science community, including a Nobel Laureate, made the case for federal support of fundamental research by highlighting the role of federally supported research in the development of key technologies in Apple’s iPad, and what future benefits that support may bring.